Absent fathers


Here’s a father-son story that is unfortunately, all too common in a world where men aren’t taught or encouraged or validated to spend quality time with, and raising their children.

thestrugglershandbook

I don’t remember my father being around that much as I was growing up. I’m sure he was there from time to time, but I just don’t recall much in the way of interaction as a child. He was in the air force and no doubt a busy guy, but I think you can be a hard-working man and still be a positive part of your kids’ lives. I remember as a four-year-old in Spokane, Washington, going down a long slide as flat as I could make myself so he wouldn’t see me as he came to pick me up (back then it was okay to go to the park alone at that age, either because there weren’t pedophiles, or more likely because there was no media to first cultivate them and then sensationalize the danger). I had permission to be there, so hiding was an odd thing to do; I think maybe to…

View original post 1,178 more words

This entry was posted in Child-rearing, Emotional literacy, Fathers, Happiness, Nurture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

